RSS

Feminist Update

12 Apr

A week or so back, Apu wrote a post about a lack in desi-centric content on feminism. So I said, why don’t we (bloggers) all write about what feminism means to us? Apu’s response was this great post about what it means to be a feminist. Then, she tagged me on it and I wrote about theory and practice in India (post below).

Since then, a few more of our friends have joined in. Dee writes that she doesn’t believe in ‘ism’s but can see a use for feminism in rural India. Desigirl writes of her own experiences and how she came to see herself as a feminist. So many of us can relate. In fact, most of us have tried to explain it with our personal experiences, like Sakshi Juneja does in her post about how blogging brought feminism into her life and Art does here in her post about the “F” word.

Missing the male perspective? Well, here’s Kokonad who sent me his two cents here. The issue he’s addressing can be found at this link. I wish there were more… and maybe there soon will. More updates on the way.

A big thank you to all those who took it up. I hope more of you’ll join us.

***

Tagged! Kishore writes about the biology of oppression and the lack of understanding.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on April 12, 2007 in Life, Personal

 

9 responses to “Feminist Update

  1. apu

    April 12, 2007 at 4:43 am

    Great ! I am compiling all these too…and maybe eventually will put up a perma page…

     
  2. Desigirl

    April 12, 2007 at 6:16 am

    Wasn’t Kishmish supposed to be doing one too, Ams?

     
  3. Kishore

    April 12, 2007 at 9:31 am

    Mine’s coming.. Mine’s coming..

     
  4. Amrita

    April 12, 2007 at 10:09 am

    I’m still finding my way around this blog Apu but I’ll definitely try and do the same.

    DG – so he says, so he says…

    No pressure Kishmish 😀

     
  5. DG

    April 12, 2007 at 1:35 pm

    I even gave him an idea for his one, Ams. What more could one do?

     
  6. Kishore

    April 12, 2007 at 11:14 pm

    Okay stop it stop it.

    Here’s mine.. 🙂

    http://dayswork.wordpress.com/2007/04/13/demystifying-feminism

    see, I keep promises.

     
  7. Amrita

    April 13, 2007 at 1:24 am

    Hee hee, talk about piling on the pressure. Good going K!

     
  8. Jawahara

    April 13, 2007 at 3:50 am

    Hey:

    I’ve written my feminism thing. Except, I now live in Switzerland so all my Explorer and blogger commands show up in German. Weird! So, I couldn’t figure out how to tag it.

    Still, I did get it written. Thanks for asking me to.

     
  9. Amrita

    April 14, 2007 at 1:30 am

    That’s excellent Jawahara – thank you so much!

     
 
