RSS

American Idol: Curtains for Chris

30 Mar

Are you sick of all the Sanjaya around you? I am. So I tackled our latest um, bootant? It’s a word now, okay? Over at Blogcritics I wrote:

Chris Sligh has always impressed me as a man with a plan. Walking into the sixth season of American Idol, he and his fellow contestants obviously had to have an idea of how the show works. I don’t doubt that he’s genuinely snarky, but his quip during the auditions (“I’m here to make David Hasselhoff cry”) was pretty much an indicator of Idol things to come: nicely calculated to make an impression on the judges and the viewers at home without offending anybody save The Hoff’s German fans (who can’t vote) and those who are in eternal mourning for the cleavage that was Baywatch (who wouldn’t vote for him anyway).

By the time the top 24 were finalized, however, it must have been obvious to him that he hadn’t landed in the two prime Idol spots that gets everybody talking: the best of the best and the worst of the rest. The girls pretty much had a lockdown on the best section while Antonella Barba and Sanjaya Malakar were shoo-ins for the worst (Sanjaya fans, please don’t email me, I know you love him already. Believe me, how I know!).

Haley Scarnato would sometimes stray over to the latter group but her problem is a personality vacuum more than anything else; she has it patched up with her wardrobe for now but it won’t last. Blake Lewis gets into the former by default because he’s young, pretty and beatboxes when he isn’t singing; he also knows songs from the 90s and has that elusive thing called personality, which means the rest of the guys are pretty much screwed no matter how much Timberlake or Nosferatu they channel.

So there are only two other options left to stand out: either bring something “different” to the table or make your way up the controversy rankings. I don’t know if Sligh made a conscious decision to try each of these out but try them he did and failed every time.

Read more here or here.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 30, 2007 in Celebrity, Entertainment, Music, News

 

5 responses to “American Idol: Curtains for Chris

  1. Retro Music Chick

    March 30, 2007 at 1:13 pm

    Just wanted to drop you a note to thank you for reading and commenting on “Teen Suicide: Who’s Stopping You?” It’s nice to see former mopey teens standing by me, because I too was a mopey teen (a full fledged goth, actually). I do agree though, most of those comments are hilarious–I’m pretty fond of the guy who took the effort to google me and tell me I was ugly. Or the guy who simply copied and pasted all the bands from my profile and told me they sucked. Fun Fun Fun!

    Thanks for having a sense of humor, and you’ve got a really nice blog here. Keep up the awesome work.

    Your Retro Music Chick,
    Libby

     
  2. desigirl

    March 30, 2007 at 1:17 pm

    I am beginning to sound rather like a parrot but u crack me up big time. Ur words have made Am Idol more fun than it really is. Now I am gonna keep searching You Tube for vids!!
    You go, girl!

     
  3. Amrita

    March 30, 2007 at 2:15 pm

    Hey Libby – thanks for coming by. 🙂 I suspect there are more mopey teens around than not. God knows I was one myself which is primarily the reason why I find them funny now – part of it is relief that I didnt get stuck that way. I love your blog btw.

     
  4. Amrita

    March 30, 2007 at 2:15 pm

    DG – I love leading people into the ways of evil. Welcome to the dark side 😀

     
  5. desigirl

    March 30, 2007 at 2:23 pm

    Is this where we play the Twilight Zone music?!

     
 
