RSS

Gift of the Pickle Addict

09 Mar

From the Kitchen at Blogpourri:

CRANBERRY PICKLE

1. Choose firm cranberries

2. Clean (chop off any dry ends near the stems) and dry them completely. There should be no water because water tends to rot the berries and the pickle will get spoilt.

3. Chop the berries into halves

4. Add salt, red chilli powder (paprika) to taste.

5. Add a dash of turmeric powder

6. Add 1 tsp of roasted fenugreek powder (methi powder)

7. Heat sesame seed oil (for 250 gms cranberries, 50 gms oil), add powdered asafoetida and 1 tsp mustard seeds.

8. Wait for the oil mixture to cool and add to the cranberry mix.

9. Enjoy!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 9, 2007 in Personal

 

7 responses to “Gift of the Pickle Addict

  1. DesiGirl

    March 9, 2007 at 2:46 pm

    flicked Suj’s recipe, did you? tut, tut!

     
  2. Amrita

    March 9, 2007 at 4:21 pm

    Hey, I got it fair and square – I asked.
    Furthermore – ingrate! šŸ˜€

     
  3. DesiGirl

    March 9, 2007 at 4:26 pm

    all’s fair in war and pickles eh? ‘course!
    :p

     
  4. Amrita

    March 10, 2007 at 6:26 am

    Hey I checked out those food blogs you were talking about. really cool šŸ™‚

     
  5. DesiGirl

    March 10, 2007 at 5:50 pm

    I know! I have bookmarked a few. Some of them have golt recipes so next time the MIL makes a comment re not cooking Andhra stuff, I can whip one up, courtesy Mahanandi or the aptly named ‘Maa Inti Vanta’!!
    Speaking of which, I have decided to join the bandwagon and start my own food blog as well. Well, not a copycat thing but a place to store my gran’s yummy recipes.

     
  6. Amrita

    March 11, 2007 at 7:32 am

    hey, drop me a link… for some reason I canNOT cook Indian food. Or at least, I can but it doesnt taste right, the way my mom makes it šŸ˜¦

     
  7. DesiGirl

    March 11, 2007 at 6:34 pm

    http://grubs-up.blogspot.com/ is where it’s at. Obv I am yet to put anything in it but want to start with my gran’s extra spesh iyengar payasam. am making it in a few hours so shall host it tonight.
    arre, NOTHINg is ever like how ur mum (or gran) makes it!

     
 
