RSS

The World Cup Cometh

06 Mar


*Groan*
All right! All right! I’m sorry I groaned. Pardon me for not looking forward to a month or more of sweaty men running around after a little ball all day.
All day, people! What is wrong with you? Anyway, that Nike ad is pretty funky. I guess I’ll just have to take my entertainment where I can get it.
So here’s Tony Bourdain giving a little cricket lesson. Hee.

PS – I take all of the above back if India wins the Cup. What? I’m shallow. Deal with it.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 6, 2007 in Entertainment, News, Video

 

4 responses to “The World Cup Cometh

  1. Kokonad

    March 7, 2007 at 8:25 pm

    Hi there!
    I leave a comment again because you came up with two things important to men – sex and sports, in succession! šŸ˜›
    Coming to the point, don’t you think cricket receives undue importance in India? We have other sports like hockey, basketball and football – which neither have the funding nor the fan-club. How unfortunate.
    It’s surprising how 90% of a billion strong country can passionately watch a game of 22 people, of which only 3-5 are active at a given time.
    Almost every other team sport is a all-player game…

     
  2. Amrita

    March 8, 2007 at 4:03 pm

    Y’know, it’s an old debate re: cricket vs. other sports. When I was young, my school was where they held some of the national sports meets for under-18s, so I know how pathetic the training for sports other than cricket can be in India. I think people keep waiting for commerce to make the way and that’s just not going to happen. We need to understand the limitations of the Indian physique, invest more in grassroots recruitment and training (not crazy Soviet levels but still…) and then sit back and wait for those athletes to make good. Look at Indian tennis – nobody cared before we began to look like we had a chance at a win.

    As for cricket – its about the only thing we have going for us. So its not so surprising. I’ve always felt it was an ego thing as well as a sport issue. No?

     
  3. Kokonad

    March 9, 2007 at 12:13 am

    Ha ha… you got a point, milady!

    And the next time, you *have* to write something I disagree with!

     
  4. Amrita

    March 9, 2007 at 7:39 am

    šŸ˜€

     
 
