RSS

Breaking Radio Silence

19 Feb

Surprise! Thought I’d forgotten all about you lot, didn’t you? Not at all! I’ve just been going quietly crazy trying to get my life back on track. Which is not going well, thanks for asking. So I’m still stuck in limbo and the hiatus stretches on.

I know, I know. Boo, Me.

But! I have been mucking around here and there on the internet and perhaps you would like to read those efforts? My chat about Dhobi Ghat with friend Filmiholic, for instance!

Warning: it is very, very spoilery as befits a movie that has been out for a month.

Amrita: Also, this is proof positive that more women need to make movies. The way the camera followed the actors, especially the male ones, was significantly different from how a male director would have presented them. For example, there’s that scene in which Prateik is standing under the glow of a naked lightbulb and he’s all sweaty in these gross surroundings, and they shoot him in profile – it’s a shot I’ve seen in so many arthouse movies made in India before: “sweaty poor person in grotty urban shack”. I think people like Om Puri spent the entire 80s doing shots like those. But this time, there was a certain vulnerability and sexiness to that shot. We weren’t just watching a character, we were also being presented with the maleness of that character in a way. Obviously this has to do with Prateik being a hottie but even so… What do you think?
Filmiholic: And he (Munna) was so guileless. I remember being really touched and impressed by Prateik in Jaane Tu… so I had good expectations for him here, but he so exceeded them. Yes, agreed, he is indeed a hottie. But the way in this role he was also vulnerable, and a stand-up guy, and unaware of the effect his smoking hotness was having on people around him. Like when he does that shirtless pose when Shai’s photographing him,
Amrita: Yes! Great scene!
Filmiholic: I really just took that as him aping what he’s seen filmi guys do, not him thinking “I’m too sexy for my shirt” And by the way  it just occurs to me now, but three cheers for how the wardrobe people got his clothes right. When watching those Saturday morning desi entertainment shows here in the US, whenever I see them interviewing Bombay guys exiting cinemas to ask them about X or Y film they just saw, even if you can tell the dude may not have a stack of money in his wallet, 9 times out of 10 he’ll be wearing a somewhat flash, fashion-forward shirt, and probably with some accessories, and I’ve even observed this just being in the city – Mumbai guys often have quite a particular style and daring and a bit of the peacock about then, and I don’t observe the same in Madras when I’m there, no offense intended to the lovely men of Tamil Nadu, who have their own different vibe going on.
Back soon with other updates.
 
12 Comments

Posted by on February 19, 2011 in Entertainment, Movies, News, Personal

 

12 responses to “Breaking Radio Silence

  1. Banno

    February 20, 2011 at 2:00 am

    Ha, nice to have you back. Though not nice to know, you are stuck in limbo. :(

    For me, Prateik’s vulnerability, in general, makes him a hottie. I still haven’t seen the film. I know!

    And Filmiholic, so true about Mumbai men. People do dress up really smartly, even the domestic help, there’s nothing quite like the smart, well turned out Maharashtrian maid. :)

     
  2. Gradwolf

    February 20, 2011 at 2:54 pm

    Totally agree on the dress sense part.

    To me, having grown up in the city and being one among the million lovers of Bombay was enough – we pretty much suck up to this film :D

    Hope you find your totem and get out of the limbo :)

     
  3. aroon ramchandran

    February 21, 2011 at 2:53 am

    Amri.. is that thing about aamir brushing his teeth thing about me :P

     
  4. Ramsu

    February 21, 2011 at 4:26 am

    Welcome back… if only for the odd post until real life sorts itself out.

    I am generally quite skeptical of films that claim that a particular setting “is a character”. However well the setting is used, I find that its relevance is only through the characters who inhabit it. So your discussion on that front struck a chord.

     
    • CheeC

      February 22, 2011 at 4:26 pm

      Ramsu, (haven’t caught DG yet but) I too tend to think that the relevance of a setting is mainly (won’t say only) through the characters who inhabit it (ah, makes me conjure up this mental image of a nun (in habit) wandering the streets of Mumbai painting pavements red, blame her paan-chew”in” habit :-P).

      And oh whee, Amrita, we got you(r) back (if only spore radically..) :-D

       
  5. ramesh

    February 22, 2011 at 1:24 pm

    great to see thy back

     
  6. Amrita

    February 22, 2011 at 3:05 pm

    Banno – thanks! :) and WHAT?! You must see it pronto! Who knows, it might even wean Dhanno off her Ranbir addiction!

    Adithya – ha! like that is it? Thank you :)

    Aroon – Hee hee hee! You know it, babe! Don’t lie! :D

    Ramsu – thank you! :) Yeah, if that is what they were hoping to do, then it didn’t come across at all to me. But I liked what they did with the city here.

    Ramesh – was that a pun? :D I’m all sporadic this month though. Which is not what I hoped for. Oh well.

     
  7. sachita

    February 23, 2011 at 2:29 am

    “this is proof positive that more women need to make movies.” err.. cmon, if some 1 wants to make a movie they just ought to – woman or man!

    sorry that statement standalone threw me off and i know you would understand.

    Welcome back and hoping everything gets back on track:)

     
  8. dipali

    February 23, 2011 at 9:09 am

    Glad to have you back, Amrita. I hope your life sorts itself out soon.
    I loved Dhobi Ghat, saw it twice in two days (with different people) and would happily see it again!

     
  9. M

    February 23, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    Whew – you’re alive! Hope RL cleans up soon!

    Prateik…eh. Haven’t seen this movie, but no, my hormones are not stirred in any way…And I join you on not finding Aamir attractive…not in anything, though he was puppy-dog cute in his early movies…no SA for me at least :)

     
  10. Glamour.Raafatrola

    March 22, 2011 at 7:48 am

    it was a slow but interesting movie,

     
 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

