RSS

Old Fab

20 Dec

My new(ish) post on older actresses in Hindi film:

…just when they reach their truly interesting period, nobody wants to make movies with them anymore because conventional “wisdom” holds that the audience doesn’t care to fantasize about older women, especially if they’re someone else’s wife. Thus begins the slide back into mediocre cinema and eventually retirement – either offscreen or into thankless roles as the white-haired mothers of their former male co-stars.

[D]espite all the fuss people make about older actresses, it is interesting to note that they’re hardly revolutionary even in an industry as conservative Hindi film-making.

Read more at the newly revamped Women’s Web.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on December 20, 2010 in Celebrity, Entertainment

 

Tags: , , ,

11 responses to “Old Fab

  1. sachita

    December 21, 2010 at 1:30 am

    Hindi cinema is quite good in this sense, they had one married actress ruling the roost atleast every decade… Tamil, on the other hand, just when the actress learns to act if at all she can act, they get married and we dont see them on the big screen any more. Like Simran she hit the right note with Kannathil muthamittal and now she is gone.

    Ps: Sridevi’s tamil films werent all b grade – she did good, bad and great in tamil1

     
  2. BlueMist

    December 21, 2010 at 5:00 am

    Mirch review coming up anytime soon ?

     
  3. CheeC

    December 21, 2010 at 8:05 pm

    Newly re’vamped’ indeed, LOL. Did read the full article (fab title, btw: “30 Plus…”) over at Women Web.

    I burst out laughing right after the first sentence, “..the average female…goes through three distinct phases of development,” coz it coincided with this outrageously funny Vadivel dialogue from Kaadalan that I also caught (the first half of, for the first time) last night:

    (Aside: Lurved that Shankar (director) had Vikram dub for Prabhudeva; oh I could close my eyes and listen to the guy yammer all day…what voice, sigh!!).

    And thanks for that very vital statistic…31 is considered the optimum age for female attractiveness huh? Explains a lot of things for me, you know, for e.g. why I was the age I was when I wrote my very first email to a total stranger…a “Madras Male” at that, argh! LOL.

    Heck, what stops me from (over)sharing here? Nothing. So here goes:

    Aug. 29, 2007
    Hi, I too am a Tamilian in my thirties (31, to be precise), a born and bred Chennaiite. That’s everything you need to know about why I’m the most qualified person to nod in perfect agreement and shower my lavish kudos on a fitting commentary about why Mani Ratnam belongs to Madras, and why us 30-somethings have a collective right to feel betrayed about his subsequent forays into national (and, who knows, maybe international) filmmaking in a bid to (a) prove a point? (b) chase fame? (c) both?. Kadavulukke Velichcham!

    Yes, we’ve made peace with it the way we’ve learned to make peace with ourselves on our life choices following from being teenagers in the 80s, turning 20 in the 90s: we chose vocations that seemed eternally right to us but the rest of the family thought we had just shot ourselves in the foot; we left our so-called love interest(s) behind to pursue a future full of ambition and drive and quite a few of us lucky ones even ended up finding true love in the process. Some of us can even relate to the identity crisis that Mani Ratnam is perhaps going thru…having done it all and seen it work, willing to throw it all away only to start afresh, reinvent ourselves, maybe even morph into entities our past selves would hardly recognize. Maybe that’s what life is all about, for better or worse.

    One can only wish Michael Jackson would “re” morph into his 80s self…his music and on-stage persona had never once ceased to sweep me off my feet. Likewise, one can only wish Mani Ratnam will wake up to find himself inextricably locked in a “Madras of the late 80s” time warp. I’d give an arm and a leg to evoke that, and I can swear that almost every Tamilian in his/her thirties would, as well.

    Keep writing reviews!

    Phew! Can you imagine, four Augusts ago, it actually was a Man’s World?. :-D

     
    • CheeC

      August 15, 2011 at 8:28 pm

      Guess I must be in an Aww gusty mood, coz I was blown away by (the timing of) Beth’s first ever comment on Memsaab’s blog!

      On August 30 2007, she writes:

      Hi Greta –
      I was just told about your completely superwow blog by Filmi Geek! (“Superwow” being, of course, the very highest Bollywood-related compliment. I can’t remember what movie the word is from, sadly.) I have never seen any Shammi movies – though Shashi has captured my heart utterly and completely – but a copy of Teesri Manzil is on its way from a friend in Germany. I’ll come back to compare notes!

      Beth

      (Yes, I was doing a quick skim of Shammi posts/comments over at Memsaab’s and stumbled upon Beth stumbling upon Greta… Great minds, what can I say..)

       
  4. Gradwolf

    December 21, 2010 at 11:58 pm

    @CheeC: Ha, if I need introduce someone to Baradwaj Rangan or to Mani Ratnam, I always give the link to that BR article. That’s one article of Brangan I revisit on a regular basis!

    Like Sachita says, the Hindi industry is mildly better off. In the south marriage is considered the final nail in the coffin of an actress’s career. At least wrt lead roles. Also, I wonder how many actresses, even in Hindi, have married someone outside the industry and then continued doing those odd films time to time. Not Juhi, not Madhuri, right? Kajol is the exception and we know why. That’s another statistic actually. And where the rudy hell is Chitrangadha Singh? I saw that trailer of Saali Khushi and I think that was eons ago.

     
    • CheeC

      December 22, 2010 at 1:39 am

      Et tu, wolfie? :-D Small wonder the R’s have the maximus stalkers in all of Filmistan!

       
  5. Amrita

    December 22, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    @Sachita – I was talking about Sri’s Tamil and Telugu-produced movies in Hindi with Jeetendra et al. Even that movie she did with AB was weirdly off.
    I’m so sad Simran doesnt act any more. I thought KM was really good.

    @BM – ‘fraid not. I’m swamped this Xmas and sooooooo tired. I saw Band Baaja Baarat however and I thought it was great. I wanted to write a review but my fingers threatened to fall off if I made them work any more. I think I’ll catch Mirch on DVD or something coz I want to see TMK and TKHJ if I can so I’m conserving my energy and planning ahead. :)

    @CheeC / Adithya – either of you have a link to that? I don’t think I’ve ever read it. Or maybe I have and my brain has gone on strike.

     
    • CheeC

      December 22, 2010 at 5:11 pm

      Aw c’mon you Internet power user you you!! :-D Why dontchya Google “madras male man’s world” and see what the universe has in store? (Some such search quirkiness is what had me tumble down the rabbit hole to begin with, four score months ago, in case you’re curious… can almost sniff you getting curiouser and curiouser now… LOL)

      Hey, while you give ‘em poor fingers a rest, how about flexing those vocal chords instead, and “talking” thru your reviews for us…ah the Audacity of hope and all that. :-P

       
      • Gradwolf

        December 22, 2010 at 11:42 pm

        Nice touch, Audacity of hope :P

         
        • CheeC

          December 22, 2010 at 11:53 pm

          Thank you for no-teasing :-P

           
  6. Gradwolf

    December 22, 2010 at 11:41 pm

     
 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

