RSS

Raunchy Haunch

05 Dec

You’ve heard of leg-men and ass-men and boob-men – but did you know Indians were thigh-men?

The first time I even knew this was a possibility was when Shilpa Shirodkar still had a career. It was way before my time so I have no idea how she suddenly ballooned several sizes over the course of a year (?) from a fairly unremarkable starlet to a big girl whom lecherous directors delighted in squeezing into rustic costumes much too small for her. (And then drenched her in more water than the annual rainfall of that area, of course.) What I do remember is that she immediately started appearing in the back-page gossip columns of Sunday supplements as the pin-up du jour for all “thunder thighs” enthusiasts.

Even that term makes no sense to me. I’m all for alliteration but that’s not even a sexy one. It beings to mind someone who’s so obese, the ground shakes when they walk. Except it’s clearly meant to be a compliment. The reason Shilpa Shirodkar sticks in my memory, for instance, is because the writer came off as extremely creepy even to my uncomprehending young eyes as he wrote about his vision filling with her supple thighs as he sat down to interview her and how all that weight gains had done wondrous things to her figure. Ew.

South Indian actresses get this a lot, I’ve noticed. In fact, that’s what brought it all back. It’s impossible to look for videos of Sridevi, for example, from her late 70s-Jeetendra 80s period without running into a legion of her devoted fans all busily drooling over publicity stills of her wearing shorts.

And clearly, this was something the people involved appreciated because once you start looking at them without a giant frame of WTF dancing in front of your eyes, you notice that the photographs carefully focus on their thighs. The women are frequently wearing shirts buttoned up to the throat, but with their legs drawn up to present their thighs.

I’m aware there are women out there who are obsessed with their thighs and some people spend more time thinking about it than others – Jezebel’s Thighlights never did anything for me, but to each their own, right? – but when Google shows me headlines like “Shocking Thigh Show!” I have to wonder what the deal is.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on December 5, 2010 in Celebrity, Entertainment, Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Raunchy Haunch

  1. Jan

    December 5, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    1)thank you for the thighlights link. Soccer player man-thighs warm my soul.

    2) this trend totally explains my mom stitching up my vnecks all the way to my chin on the sly but letting me wear short shorts without a problem (yes, I did that once just to test her). blame media.

    3) I’m torn between “well, big girls need fans, too” and “ew” because the latter makes me feel strangely like a hypocrite. what’s a girl ta do.

     
  2. CheeC

    December 5, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    LOL @ “thigh-men”! I do remember that the men in my family (and I guess most men of a certain generation) used to refer to Sridevi as “thundering thighs.” :-D

    And dunno if it’s the fact that you and Beth were just now talking about that “dick-measuring contest” the Kaala Paththar boys had over a cup of tea, or that “thigh” acronyms to “High T”, but I’m suddenly reminded of college days and cramming sessions over… high tea! :-P

     
    • CheeC

      December 5, 2010 at 9:56 pm

      *anagrams to “High T”

       
  3. Banno

    December 7, 2010 at 4:22 am

    What about Silk Smitha? I think she was the first person about whom I read that, thunder thighs. Well, I for one don’t mind the thigh-obsession, it excuses my own :)

    Anyway, I guess, we used to be quite used to low cleavages and bare bellies, thanks to the sari, so thighs and short shorts had all the glamour of the West(!!!) associated with them.

    Not so much anymore, right, with the short, short dresses everyone sports, thighs have lost their sex appeal, me thinks.

     
  4. Bala

    December 7, 2010 at 4:25 am

    You have offended the legions of belly-button men with this piece ! (I assume such legions exist ,considering that they get more exposure than some faces out there )

     
  5. Amrita

    December 8, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    Jan – lol, our mothers have truly been there, seen that! Some of these women aren’t even big, but even the ones that are – I mean, she’s got a lot of jiggly bits. What’s so special about the thighs?

    CheeC – damn, but peepz were frustrated back in the day.

    Banno – she definitely presented them a lot more than anyone else!

    Bala – they are completely separate, I assure you! :D They have a whole different club with their own weird terms like “navel cleavage” and yes, they appear to far outnumber the poor thigh-men.

     
  6. sachita

    December 8, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    buh… when you can accept the other two why not this as well – though my reasoning is the same as Banno’s. Besides Indians didnt suffer from sticks called as legs syndrome.

     
  7. Bala

    December 9, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    I actually meant the b.bs/navel Cs get more exposure than the faces :D But I guess the legions do too :p

     
  8. AnandDad

    July 14, 2011 at 5:19 am

    I came back here after almost 2 years and read this. This is so offensive I spent an hour unsuccessfully looking up for an old quote by Peter Ustinov. Let me paraphrase it for you: Women should never comment on another woman’s looks. They simply don’t have the enzymes to do that.

    So please leave us (men) and our obsession with thunder-thighs alone, will you???

     
  9. Bashir Hamdard

    October 15, 2011 at 9:52 pm

    Hmmmm…very subtle tease…Indian style. However, I find this more raunchy than a stripper in an English movie. :P

     
 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers

