RSS

For Want of Whiplash

26 Nov

I don’t care what anybody says, but I love Willow Smith’s Whip My Hair. And that’s a good thing because I can’t get it out of my freakin’ head.

But look, it’s age-appropriate and it’s fun and it’s silly and it makes me vaguely wish I was still a kid – and hardly anything makes me want to be a kid again because let’s face it, being a kid sucks. But if I got to whip my hair back and forth and just shake ‘em off, shake ‘em off, shake ‘em off, shake ‘em off, maybe it won’t be so bad.

I don’t know why public opinion is so harsh against the Smiths for letting their kids act. Will Smith was a child star too and he didn’t invent the whole famous-parents-introduce-spawn-to-family-business gig. In fact, if we must have the children of famous people foisted on us, I wish more of them would be like the Smith siblings, Jaden and Willow, who have a real personality.

Look at Willow’s red-carpet outfits (thanks for alerting me to those, Beth!)! I think the Fanning sisters, Dakota and Elle, do a good job at princessy-appropriate, as does Abigail Breslin – but it’s great to see a kid really play dress up. So her parents have the money to make it couture rather than family hand-me-downs discovered in the attic and she does it on red carpets – that’s the way it is. She didn’t go rob it from some other kid.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 26, 2010 in Celebrity, Entertainment, Music, Video

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “For Want of Whiplash

  1. sachita

    November 26, 2010 at 5:41 pm

    havent heard the song but… i am not a big fan of children acting or becoming a celebrity. Hollywood is notorious for its child stars growing up to be adults with all sorts of problems – from michael Jackson to lindsay lohan to britney spears…

     
  2. DewdropDream

    November 26, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    Anybody else, any other couple and I might’ve had the usual cynical reaction to them introducing their kids to the business as early as possible. But somehow, the fact that the Smiths seem so grounded makes it okay for me. The parents are both talented and it shows in the kids … pity there aren’t more families like this. These ones aren’t all about the name and privilege and that makes all the difference.

    Also, the kids don’t seem to be spoiled by all this attention as such. It says a lot that they are like that, it says a lot about their upbringing and their parents … given this is showbiz we’re talking of.

     
  3. Amrita

    November 29, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    Sachita – clikc the link! Click the link! Click the link! Earworms must be shared!

    3D – I don’t really care for Jada but I agree that at least the kids actually have talent and seem like actual kids at this point instead of messes like Ali Lohan aka the middle aged teenager.

     
 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

