RSS

Presenting!

12 Nov

gaddar

People who sound like narcoleptic chipmunks with a bad cold have no business participating in a podcast, which is why I never did. Until now.

As I slide down the other slope of my 20s towards 30, I’ve decided the time has come to stretch a little. This involves doing things I would rather not, such as talk. There’s nothing I hate more than talking – I’ve been taking John Wayne’s advice to speak slow and seldom for years without even realizing it – but I do love to listen. Left to myself I’d communicate in grunts and gestures but it’s kind of hard to convince people to have a conversation without saying something once in a while.

Thank God, then, for Beth! My partner in crime who is charming, articulate and very kind. The story of Masala Zindabad: The Podcast that Ought to Have Been a Book, our new project, is a long and not very interesting one but the topics it was to cover and the people involved are the opposite. Unfortunately, it was one of those things that just wasn’t coming together, hence our decision to present it in this format.

You can follow it here. I’ll warn you up front that this is about the most DIY amateur production ever (and it nearly killed me setting it up – so fiddly!) so if you know your way around an effort of this kind and want to share tips, they would be most welcome!

This is an example of our test run:

 
9 Comments

Posted by on November 12, 2010 in News, Personal

 

Tags: , , , , ,

9 responses to “Presenting!

  1. ReviewGang

    November 12, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    With anything tech, you can expect labnol to have written about it.

    http://www.labnol.org/software/tutorials/podcast-recording-tutorial-video-microphone-sound/1305/

    http://labnol.blogspot.com/2006/09/audio-podcasts-tips-video-tricks.html

    The audio quality is indeed poor. You sound much much better than Beth but I think you held the microphone too close to your mouth or something is tugging it. There are quite a few disturbances from your end :)

    Good luck :)

     
    • Amrita

      November 12, 2010 at 3:13 pm

      Thanks! That’s helpful. :D Poor Beth got screwed by the software that was recording us while I came to realize that I missed an excellent career as a heavy breather.

       
  2. bhel

    November 12, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    Hey, just left a comment on the pod blog. I forgot to mention – last evening, I passed over watching “Women on the verge…” to watch Hopscotch. :p

     
  3. CheeC

    November 12, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    W-O-W… this totally came at me from out in the left field. :-D I was just toooo THRILLED to hear your voice AFTER ALL THESE YEARS (and Beth’s too!) to think straight the rest of the day (I know; sounds like an incredibly sappy thing to say, but it’s The Truth…and aren’t you on this monumental mission NOT to hold back the truth in Masala, or is it the masala in Truth?…can you tell my head’s still spinning?).

    You sound JUST like how I’d imagined you would (again, I know that sounds terribly sappy/filmy, but par for the course, no? LOL). And what an entertaining duo you two are! You said something about how this movie is so good at compressing info and putting it out there, and wanting more cabarets, and then Beth goes on a roll, talking about the use of weather, environment, describing fugitives all in the same room, huddling around a fireplace…and oh Pran’s “gigantic American boat of a car” (LOL)… the annoying child who had it coming…criminals doing qawwali, making eyes, hai hai… AWESOME. The affection and the thoughtfulness come right thru — great job, you two!! This is so so unexpected. Keep surprising me, please. :-D (About audio – I thought it was pretty good, but then I was totally focused on the voices rather than their fine-tuning, this being first-time and all!)

    Now, dragging an iron chest full of money around snowy mountains, then burning it all to keep warm…doesn’t it sound a bit like that scene from Cliffhanger?? Love it!

    PS: BTW that Michel Caine NPR interview was fantastic, as was the John Wayne comment about “pissing on suede shoes”!!

     
  4. DewdropDream

    November 13, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    Awesome!

    I’ll be following this :)

     
  5. Shalini

    November 13, 2010 at 10:57 pm

    Awww, you and Beth are my most favorite narcoleptic chipmunks ever.:-) Awesome podcast. You and Beth are both amazingly articulate and observant and *clearly* have your priorities straight when it comes to the most imporatant features of a Hindi film.

    I want to hear more!

     
  6. Harshad

    November 15, 2010 at 3:53 am

    You seem to speak to me only in my left year and Beth only in the right ear. Intentional? I think it would be a lot better if you both sounded “stereophonic”, if you will :) !

     
  7. CheeC

    November 15, 2010 at 4:44 am

    You’re sure to be amused by this. Toy Story 3 has just come out on Blu ray and I saw it for the first time, Friday. (This is not the amusing part. In fact, nothing about TS3 is “amusing” per se; I thought it was an achingly beautiful take on a seemingly simple bond (“friendship”) being stress-tested and stretched (“to infinity and beyond”) thanks to the cruel machinations of a script single-mindedly servicing this altruistic idea of unconditionality — of simply “being there” for the one who once loved you.)

    I came here and searched “Toy Story” (had a vague feeling you didn’t review it) only to land on your Hema-Dharam top 10 — what fun! I think this post was before I started reading you; I don’t recall stumbling upon it during random forays into archives either, until just now. Thoroughly enjoyed sifting for gems like “electric blue Cleopatra wig! Sailors! Sitar music!” :-D

    Unfortunately, all those videos you embedded are a goner now, with the exceptions of Pratigya and Kinaara. Too bad I missed the chance to catch that Sita Aur Gita song subtitled in, er, Russian you said? LOL. But worry not, I did catch Hema and Sanjeev (but mostly just their stunt double!) in their ’70s roller-blading glory, some two weeks back on TV’s Namaste America (and thanks to that ‘Judwaa’-themed show, I now know Kajol played twins in a movie… can you imagine? Two of her, in One film? Too much!!).

    PS: BTW, it was a neat surprise to see a reference to Magnificent Obsession in that Hema-Dharam post coz I watched it as a Douglas Sirk double-bill with All That Heaven Allows, thanks to this class I’m in on Wed night. I’d never seen a Rock Hudson film before, and hadn’t so much as heard of Jane Wyman…but both have given me a big crush on ’50s Hollywood now!!

     
  8. Amrita

    November 16, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    Bhel – I’ve never seen Women on the Verge… (I assume the Almodovar movie?) but that’s a tough choice! Coz he’s always so great. I hope you enjoyed Hopscotch!
    And thank you for commenting on the podcast as well!

    CheeC – Damn girl, you’re the person we hope is listening! :D Thanks so much. This kind of came out of the left field for us too! We weren’t really thinking about it. If we had, we might not have done it!
    I didn’t think Toy Story 3 was funny at all. It still gives me a funny feeling in my chest when I think about it and I won’t watch when it comes on TV — although I thought it was amazing for all the reasons you laid out.
    Also, you’ve never seen a Rock Hudson movie before? I envy you because he made some great ones and you’ll get to see them for the first time. Start off with Pillow Talk which is just amazingly fun and Giant with Liz Taylor and James Dean.

    Shalini & 3D – Awwww! Thanks so much!

    Harshad – it would’ve been intentional if I’d known what I was doing! :D We’ve fixed that for the second epi.

     
 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

