RSS

PSA

11 Nov


NSFW-ish

I have absolutely nothing to add to Sue’s excellent post about contraception except to reiterate that your sexual health is absolutely your responsibility – and a partner who does not respect that, is not someone who deserves the privilege of sharing your bed.

And make no mistake, sex is a privilege. You can talk all you want about it being a bodily function and joke about notches on your bedpost, but you’re basically discussing the most invasive act your body will ever perform, short of childbirth, which 50% of you will never experience anyway.

I think I’ve linked to this calculator before but either way, it’s a good detail to keep in your head.

Speaking of respect, find a doctor who will treat you and your concerns with the same. If that’s not your family doctor, find a new one. You’re not paying her/him money for a moral lesson; you’re there for a medical opinion.

PS – remember to wash your hands. Before, if not after, but try for before and after. Of all the parts of your body, your pee-pee is the one you most definitely want to keep happy and fresh.

 
17 Comments

Posted by on November 11, 2010 in Life, Video

 

Tags: , ,

17 responses to “PSA

  1. Christy

    November 11, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    I LOVE Sue Johanson! I used to watch her show all the time.
    Very important blog post. You must make protection your priority. If you do not settle it in your mind that you will ALWAYS, ALWAYS, ALWAYS demand protection no matter what, when you get to “the moment” you will find yourself making stupid compromises.
    Value yourself, your health and your peace of mind enough to never compromise.

     
    • Amrita

      November 11, 2010 at 3:34 pm

      Me too! She’s so awesome and I was so sad when her show went off air. “Value yourself, your health and your peace of mind enough to never compromise.” – THIS.

       
  2. A&N

    November 12, 2010 at 1:12 am

    I loved this post and Sunayana’s post as well. Agree with every word. In fact, I think it’s imporant now to reverse the trend and make sure that every daughter/daughter-in-law takes her mom/mom-in-law to the gynaec for yearly check-ups!

    Great post.

     
    • Sue

      November 12, 2010 at 4:14 am

      I’ve been trying. My mum’s one stubborn lady. While urging me to go get checked (because I need it), she refuses to go herself (because she, somehow, does not!)

       
  3. CheeC

    November 12, 2010 at 3:15 am

    Hey, what’s with the sudden fixation on ‘Kuwen Mein Rehne Wala’(yeah, “Well Being”)? **Ducks for cover**

    And oh, if you’d posted a video of Sue J wearing a green coat (instead of red), I’d have totally called her Granny Smith (such crunchy advice, eh? LOL). She’s a sweetie pie! I haven’t watched her shows, but recall catching a clip or two on youtube…in fact, I may have heard of her only courtesy you, couple years back IIRC.

    Speaking of videos, you should totally embed a vd. of Tina Turner here, belting out that awesome 80s number(if only for its “I am thinking about my own protection” line of lyric)!!

     
    • CheeC

      November 12, 2010 at 3:21 am

      PS: “make no mistake, sex is a privilege” – I love how this can double up as a REAL warning if we read “privilege” as “pre” village (ok ok will stop with the poor puns now). :-P

       
  4. Sue

    November 12, 2010 at 4:02 am

    That’s an awesome calculator. I’m not sure how accurate it is but it does make you stop and think.

    Thanks, Am, I’m linking to this post of yours.

     
  5. M

    November 12, 2010 at 11:54 am

    You know what would help? A list of doctors, in India, who would provide non-judgemental service to single women….It’s been 15 years since I left the country, but back then, my gynaec in B’lore was unique – and very very pricey….she’s retired now, and I have no idea who else exists…

    M

     
  6. CheeC

    November 12, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    From now on, I’m resolving to work from home EVERY Friday! Why? Well, otherwise, I can’t be so spontaneous and laugh explosively as I just did, reading ALL the comments on that D-listed post you just tweeted.

    It’s all about Bacon’s Rachel…wait, was it Rachel’s Bacon…Bhel’s Raaccon?…no wait…ok fuggetit I’m still soft in the head from that triple somersault I just did before ROFL’ing over that porcelain plate crashing thru picture window…dog devouring dry-wall bacon… and all of the other delightfully mad scenarios tongue-in-cheek commenters recounted.

    And to think it all started with my deciding to kick my morning off reading page 2 of the paper…right, The Star Report. You surely heard about Dick Van Dyke’s porpoise rescue way before I did (no, he didn’t rescue it; It rescued him! Now lemme go find my jaw from over there…wait, it’s trying to crawl under the crack below the bathroom door…gotta go, ttyl!! And bye-bye Productive Day…).

    PS – Paltrow can sing? That Glee “Forget You” vid. made my day!!

     
  7. Amrita

    November 12, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    A&N – I’ve been doing it with my mom! She’s a hypochondriac anyway so it didnt take much persuading :D

    CheeC – no Tina Turner, but check out Craigy Ferg’s interview with “Penis van Lesbian” as Michael K calls him and then read my review of Chitty Chitty Bang Bang to see why this is a movie everyone should watch!

    Sue – I suspect it’s more BS than anything but it’s primary purpose is to make sure you think, which is definitely does! Thank YOU for the post!

    M – the most famous gynec in Blore 10 years ago was basically operating an abortion mill so I think the bigger cities are probably operating on the other end of the skeevy scale. But yeah, thats the kind of info you want to have posted on FB walls and so on.

     
    • CheeC

      November 14, 2010 at 3:05 pm

      Hey thanks for putting that porpoise “stunt” in perspective by pointing in the direction of Craigy (and LOL@ dlisted’s 2 cents on this (Metamucical)matter, ahem)!

      Just looked it up on youtube…what a trip! Van Dyke volunteers that since the sun never shines on the British Isles, they filmed in France (and passed it off as England, except let’s just ignore the bloody vineyards in the bg, LOL. Reminded me of the plowed roads amid snowed-in landscape faux pas that memsaab brought up from Gaddar yday, commenting on your pod cast(away)!), then he and Craigy agree on the urgent need for a Bond musical and then talk about chitti chitti bang brang releasing on DVD AND Blu ray (“what’s blu ray?” balks craigy. “I have no idea” deadpans dyke…”must make it all sparkle more”…”probably makes your eyes twinkle, like whiskey” – LOL!!).

      BTW what’s with the oldies-with-cockney-accents coming back to warm the cockles of our hearts, all at once? Him and Caine BOTH have memoirs out, right?

      And oh, I did also look up your review (after reading which I’d watched the movie for the first time last summer) and here’s a nugget that truly wow-ed: “..the super four and their souped up, one of a kind car, a mechanical marvel brought to life by a free mind.”

       
      • CheeC

        November 14, 2010 at 7:50 pm

        Speaking of “oldies” and “all at once”, I must have jinxed it (in a good way) coz this write-up on the Governor Awards just hit the wires. :-D

         
  8. ramesh

    November 12, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    the ‘calculator’ says that chaps of my age usually have had 1,174,670 ‘indirect’ partners .. i am at 0, i think if they infused me with Julio Iglesias’ spirit there might be a chance yet

     
  9. Amrita

    November 16, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    @CheeC – I love Dick van Dyke and Chitty Chitty Bang Bang but I have no idea if he has a memoir out. I know Keith Richards and Michael Caine have them and I’ve ordered both and look forward to reading them. As for Godard, LOL! Did you read his response to the Award? Amazing!

    @Ramesh – Bwahahaha!

     
    • CheeC

      November 17, 2010 at 5:54 am

      You’re right. I only vaguely recall seeing “van Dyke” and “memoir” in the same sentence, somewhere… It may very well be that his upcoming musical memoir had registered in my head, minus the “musical.”

       
      • CheeC

        November 17, 2010 at 6:29 am

        PS – About Godard’s response to the Award, the only worthwhile nugget a cursory Google search dredged up was this that talks about Godard borrowing vegetables from his landlord to use as props in his films, LOL!

        And while still in the mood to credit google with mitigating my colossal (pop-cultural) ignorance, I looked up “PSA” and the only two things I found were “Professional Sports Authenticator” and “Prostate Specific Antigen”, WTF! Of course, my highly discerning brain promptly tossed these two options aside, only to come up with its own “Potentially Sacrilegious Advice”. :-P

         
        • Amrita

          November 20, 2010 at 1:08 pm

          Oh he threw a master French hissy fit. I’ve been giggling over it for days now.

           
 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

