RSS

The English Patience

10 Sep

Hello. I love British shows.
Thank you. You’ve got good taste.

Currently I’m watching ——-. I’m on episode 4 already. I can’t wait for next week!
Sorry but you will have to.

What do you mean?
Well, this season is over.

Oh, I didn’t know that. Well, then I’ll just catch up with the rest of the episodes on the net or buy the DVDs or something.
That’s just it. There are no more episodes.

You mean the entire season comprises of 4 episodes?
Yes.

Huh. Well, when does the next season start?
Three years from now. Maybe.

What?
I said: The next season will air three years from now. Maybe.

Are you serious?
Of course. Why would I joke about a thing like that? But the good news is that it might stretch to six episodes if the cast and the producers can reach an agreement.

Oh, that is good news! And why wouldn’t the cast agree to a couple of extra episodes? Look at them! They seem to be having such fun.
Ah. Well, that’s not the cast that will appear in the next season.

The one three years from now? Maybe?
Yes. It will star a completely new cast.

But it’s the same show?
Duh. Obviously it’s the same show. Same concept, same location, same production. Just another cast.

I dunno. This all sounds confusing to me. I guess I’m going to wait until it all comes out on DVD and then catch it all together.
You’ll be waiting a while, won’t you?

What do you mean?
The DVDs don’t come out for another 20 years.

Shut up.
‘Struth!

But I just got the DVDs for this other British show I like.
When was it made?

Um, let me see… about 20 years – Oh.
Toldja.

But it’s the super nice anniversary edition. Four in a box.
Not bad for one season.

Ha ha. Don’t be silly. It’s four DVDs for four seasons.
Check it.

*runs to check*

Crap. It’s one episode per DVD! And there’s no commentary or making of or anything. Wait, there’s a two-minute interview in each!
Oooh, you got the fancy version! Must have been expensive.

No – yes – well…
How much did you pay for it?

It retails for 100 pounds but it was on sale so I got it for 80.
Nice.

About this British show I love…
Yes?

I think I’ll wait for the watered down American version.
Smart choice.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on September 10, 2010 in Entertainment, Television, Video

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “The English Patience

  1. pitu

    September 10, 2010 at 5:56 pm

    LOL! Truth. My favorite current addiction is ‘Monarch of the Glen’ and I am on the bandwagon 10 yrs too late. Good thing is since the series is done, I get to see alllllllllllllll the hajaar episodes. Yay. But yes, the Brits expect maha patience levels. Ekta Kapoor should teach them.

     
  2. kaly

    September 10, 2010 at 7:09 pm

    Well, this just happened with Sherlock. 3 episodes for this season. A year’s wait for the next 3 episodes. Grrr… but, I love Brit shows.

     
  3. Beth

    September 10, 2010 at 7:22 pm

    TRUE. Except for the really egregiously awful shows like Are You Being Served and Last of the Summer Wine, which feel interminable. Wiki tells me the latter had 31 series and almost 300 episodes, and I will tell you that any 30 seconds of any of those taken at random will make me lunge for the remote.

    Also: WHYYYYYYY has Kingdom stopped after only 3 series (6 eps each, natch)? WHYYYYYY?

     
  4. Of Birds and Brits

    September 11, 2010 at 2:07 am

    There was this person in our grad class Wed night, speaking about federal careers in the liberal arts, as part of the popular Annenberg Speaker Series (pliss to note how that acronyms to ASS), and I’d have have actually stayed awake thru it all had I not already locked-in on this lucrative, if arse-busting, (non-arts) career.

    By the way, I get the Bard but what’s with Brits and birds? Heard an entire congregation out there is waiting (with nary an ounce of Patience) to caress “the twin peaks of book collecting”! Costly affair, it seems to me. :-P

     
  5. Gradwolf

    September 11, 2010 at 11:31 am

    Is this a reaction to Sherlock? I, like a million others, went through this recently. It just had three awesome awesome episodes and now the season is done. And a month later they decided, after much contemplation, that they’ll have another season. Oh well, at least they run for 1.5 hrs!

     
  6. Amrita

    September 11, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    Something about this post is a spam generator like none other. 95 thus far and counting. It’s insane.

    @ Pitu – Monarch of the Glen is good stuff! And wait till you get to the later series when all the above come to pass.

    @Kaly – I feel like they’re punishing us for something. Like viewership.

    @Beth – WHAT?! 31 series? But this is always par for the course isn’t it? Doesn’t matter where you go in the world, the worthless shit will always be all over it while the best stuff gets canceled.

    @oBaB – Yeah, isn’t it insane? I just read about it too.

    @Adithya – that was just the latest in a long line. It’s like they just don’t want anyone who’s not British to watch it. And then they talk about Americans blah blah blah.

     
  7. bhel

    September 12, 2010 at 11:28 pm

    Speaking of watered down, I am glad “The IT Crowd” never got Americanized.

     
  8. DewdropDream

    September 13, 2010 at 6:05 am

    For some reason they stick to the ‘too much of a good thing’ line of thought. We’ve got DVDs of utter crap shows in every imaginable permutation and combination, but the good ones … no sirree, you’ve gone over your limit with four episodes!

    Speaking of TV shows one waits for, they’ve televised ‘The Pillars of the Earth’ (Mathew Macfayden and Donald Sutherland, among others, in it! :D) … I’m contemplating getting a TV just for that.

     
  9. Badri

    September 20, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    I felt the same with this American show ‘Better off Ted’. But in this case they stopped it after season 2.

     
 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers

