RSS

Awesomely Insane Jeetendra

18 Aug
Awesomely Insane Jeetendra

While searching for material to post during Sridevipalooza week, I made a mistake – albeit a happy one. I went to Youtube to look for clips and fell down a Jeetendra-related video-hole.

I’d forgotten, for example, that the man spent a good chunk of his life dressed like Errol Flynn. The results were so astoundingly, blindingly B-movie fabulous, I just had to share! Just to scratch the surface…

10. Jaise Ko Taise

What better to start us off than a spot of homoerotic S&M? Complete with gymnastics and crotch shots!

Because you’re special.

9. Badi Mastani Meri Jawani

You know what Sholay lacked? The part where Jai and Veeru are hung over a bunch of hungry lions while Basanti and Radha dance awkwardly in harem pants with a bunch of passing African tribesmen.

What? No self-respecting African lady would be seen without a feather duster on her head, I’ll have you know!

8. Kismat Likhne Wale Par

A floating gold throne gently deposits Jeetendra and Jaya Prada (dressed in doublet and apsara costume, respectively) in the technicolor land of floating disco balls. You know things can only improve from there!

7. Chumma Chumma

Apart from the amazing lyrics (the rhyme scheme alone merits it a mention on every list), what I particularly love about this song is the expression on both their faces:

Jeetendra: But… but… that’s not Jaya Prada!
Dimple Kapadia: What the fuck am I doing? That’s right – I have two kids to bring up.
Jeetendra: I don’t understand! Those are the right clothes but that’s not her! This one looks like she actually understands what she’s saying!
Dimple Kapadia: Wave hands! Raise leg! Wave hands! Raise leg! I can dance! And I have no idea what I’m saying! See? Kiss me, you fool!
Jeetendra: Fraud! There is no kissing between Jaya Prada and me – we only have pretend sex while partially clothed! Get off me!

6. Deewana

Mithun wept.

5. Oye Sanam-a

It is a crime to choose just one song out of Hatim Tai but since I can’t embed the entire movie here, this will have to do. Sigh.

4. Daiya Re Daiya

There are some things without which you really can’t call yourself a Bollywood Hero of a certain vintage – and one of those things is the honored tradition of blackface. Or, as practiced in Bollytown, dark green face.

Omigod! Is that Jeetendra under that “tan”? I totally didn’t recognize him! What a cunning disguise! Of course, all the pelvic thrusts helped distract.

3. Maine Tum Sang

Did you ever wonder what people did before they had CGI or if they couldn’t afford special effects? Well, this is your lucky day! The answer is: they simulated running in slo-mo and took over some school’s annual day decorations. An absolutely fabulous school, of course!

These two really made the best movies!

2. Nainon Mein Sapna

I don’t care what you say – if you were in India at a certain point in the 80s, you knew this song like your mother’s lullaby. You saw it on Doordarshan on those oh-so-special Thursdays (Fridays?) when the holy half hour of Chitrahar played state-approved movie songs. You heard it on the radio at your grandmother’s house. Your cleaning lady hummed it under her breath. You knew it, no lie.

Try getting it out of your head now. Muahahaha!

1. Yeh Mera Premi

The thunderous notes that open this song herald your entry into a whole another dimension. Canary yellow wigs! A handkerchief on Leena Chandravarkar’s head! Playing card motifs! The I-got-beaned-on-the-head-till-I-drooled expressions on Jeetendra’s face! Tights! Happy skips! Extras in lockstep! Nothing beats this song!

[pic source]

 
16 Comments

Posted by on August 18, 2010 in Celebrity, Entertainment, Movies, Music, Video

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

16 responses to “Awesomely Insane Jeetendra

  1. Kashmira

    August 18, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    ROFL :)
    And I haven’t even seen the clips yet (no speakers in my office :/)

     
  2. Beth

    August 18, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    I blogged that card clip awhile ago – I have never seen anything so impressively run with a theme and stick to it so absolutely and thoroughly. It’s AMAZING.

    These are all astounding. Love! Wherever they are in #3, I want to move there – or at least steal one of those lit 2-D trees!

    My inner sugarplum fairies are sooo happeeeee! :)

     
  3. Veena

    August 18, 2010 at 6:50 pm

    Did you actually watch all the clips? Till the end? I am wondering what made Gulzar cast Jeetendra in films like Parichay and Khusboo. Maybe the challenge? Or maybe those were pre-Himmatwala movies…

     
  4. M

    August 19, 2010 at 11:46 am

    I HATE YOU!!!

    M (with NmS in loop in brain) – WHY did I click on your blog this morning??? Why Why….(NmS, SmN….Bah!)

     
  5. cinemachaat

    August 19, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    Nothing from Shesh Naag? I loved Jeetu’s bhangra uncle interpretation of a smooth snakey dance :)Or Badle Ki Aag? I have been sitting here half the morning clicking on these links an alternating between joy and horror. Yes, its the authentic Jeetendra experience. I always enjoy Beth’s reactions too! Thanks! Temple

     
  6. Banno

    August 20, 2010 at 2:00 am

    Loved the dialogue in the heads of Jeetendra and Dimple Kapadia. :)

    He’s one of the cutest actors we’ve had, forget acting or dancing skills. He compensated for all that with his energy. And his crotch thrusts, of course.

     
  7. sangs

    August 20, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAA!!! Enjoyed the whole post! and “nainon mein sapna”-i recently heard it AGAIN….in a saree shop!

     
  8. Amaluu

    August 20, 2010 at 3:37 pm

    Wah ji wah. This is an AWESOME post. As much as I’d love you to still post for Sridevipalooza, I can’t help but be thrilled at this tangent. Jeetu baby, we luv ya!

     
    • Amaluu

      August 20, 2010 at 3:38 pm

      Incidentally, I was an undergrad at Michigan when Tusshar Kapoor was in B-school. He was a super nice guy, very down to earth. Would have never guessed he would go into films. But man, he didn’t have an ounce of Papa’s awesomesauce!

       
  9. Amrita

    August 20, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    @ Kashmira – hee hee !

    @ Beth – I remember! There are a TON more of these and I look forward to introducing you to them at some point :D

    @ Veena – I would never inflict on you what I haven’t nobly suffered first :D Jeetu was actually pretty good in Gulzar’s movies – and you know it because he thought they were all terrible when he was acting in them.

    @ M – MUAHAHAHAHHAHAH!!! :mrgreen: I have six words for you: “ui amma ui amma ui amma!” YOU KNOW YOU KNOW IT!!!

    @ Temple – ok, first: you finally got a blog? YAY!!
    Second: omg, the number of clips I left out! His movies with Jaya Prada alone are a treasure trove of tacky blinged out insanity set to a catchy tune. In fact, I will probably do a Jeetu-Jaya Prada post sometime soon.

    @ Banno – if you say so :P I’m not a fan although I do love his movies with Gulzar.

    @ Sangs – It is THE song :D

    @ Amaluu – I swear I have a post for it! I just need to work on it some more!
    Re: Tusshar – Really? Somewhere on this blog is an interview he did which gave me absolutely the opposite impression. Although I agree he was napping when they passed around the awesomesauce.

     
  10. sachita

    August 21, 2010 at 1:18 am

    I didnt watch the videos either(at this point I need something to cheer me up and jitendra is not a way too go) but dont you think Jitendra is one step ahead of all such actors, in the sense he ensured the ones he spawned also harass one way another… that Ekta’s TV serials and Tushar’s movies are the icing in this cake.

    Ps: Another song that was popular like “naino mein..” was ” mere hathon mein nau nau” – i can no longer if I really like the song or not, but there every 1 claims it is their fav.!

     
  11. cinemachaat

    August 22, 2010 at 3:18 am

    A Jeetu & Jayaprada post would be awesome! So much…everything to highlight. I have a DVD of Haatim Tai but it hasn’t got subs and I keep getting distracted by shiny stuff so I have no idea whats happening. Maybe it’s time to try again?
    And yes, I started blogging with a friend. We often watch films together and spend ages discussing them so we figured we should inflict some of that on the rest of the world.

     
  12. Amrita

    August 22, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    Sachita – HAHAHHAHAHA!! The supreme harasser! It’s true there can only ever be one of him!
    Mere Haathon Mein was a much more sane song imo. These videos are just on another plane.

    Temple – To be honest, there is nothing that makes sense in Hatim Tai so the subtitles are entirely beside the point. I mean, I speak the damn language and I have no clue what the hell is going on other than there’s this chick but then there are all these other chicks as well and he has to defeat a monster for every chick but all the monsters he defeated counts for this one chick-in-chief… it is like Ajooba on crack. Except there is no Star Wars crossover. Boo!
    I already love your blog and have no idea what are those things of which you speak!

     
    • cinemachaat

      August 24, 2010 at 7:23 pm

      Amrita – that plot summary for Hatim Tai sounds so much like a review for Scott Pilgrim I just read. I think we’re onto something. All things stem from cracktastic Indian cinema! And why not?

       
  13. AI Jeet: Endra

    August 24, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    No, I’m not about to miss the chance for a cheesy plug, especially given the key connection between your last video here and the Robot trailer: (canary-yellow) wigs!! :-P

    On a not-unrelated note, “No self-respecting African lady would be seen without a feather duster on her head” is a true! Bring out the boa! Must.

    BTW, no kidding on the grooviness of your (filmy) secret santa(Shirley?)’s new blog. The About page alone got my undivided attention (“It was destiny!”), not to mention the Maghadheera review and the hotness rippling right thru the “Hello World” page!

     
    • cinemachaat

      August 24, 2010 at 10:07 pm

      I just happened to spot Miss Nigeria in national costume at the Miss Wotsit pageant…and she accessorised with what looked very much like a feather duster :)

       
 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

