RSS

Is This a Joke?

19 Jul

You know that scene from – what was it? Bones, I think? In which some guy too shy to put up his actual pic on the dating site he invented decides instead to photoshop the profile pics of several different men to create a brand new super datable person?

I feel like that’s what happened here. You’re looking at an experiment in Kapoor making! I can only hope he’s been programmed for etiquette, not destruction.

His name is Aditya Raj Kapoor, Shammi Kapoor is his dad, they call him Mickey at home, he does the salsa, built Appu Ghar, has a guru called Bhole Baba, directed a movie called Sambar Salsa starring Rishi Kapoor and now he’s acting in a Bollywood movie.

I’m so not making this up!

And yet! Come on! Right? Admittedly, I’m not up to speed on my Kapoor family tree (look, I have an insanely extended family of my own if I were interested in that kind of thing) but this seems… so out of the blue.

I thought my fever was over, but now I have second thoughts.

 
18 Comments

Posted by on July 19, 2010 in Celebrity, Entertainment, News

 

Tags: , , ,

18 responses to “Is This a Joke?

  1. Beth

    July 19, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    Lower nose and lip seem totally Kapoory!

     
  2. Shalini

    July 19, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    Lower chin and cheekbones also look totally Kapoorish. This is awesome!

    Wonder how Empress-of-all-things-Shammi, the Memsaab, will react…
    :-D

     
  3. sindiantadka

    July 19, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    Is the baba’s name “Hai Dhakkan” baba?? Really?

     
  4. New Raw Tic!

    July 19, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    Oh I’m a sucker for “this”-followed-by-“that” sentence structures (“Is this a joke? You know that scene…”).

    And mentions of “Sambar Salsa” and “Bhole Baba” promptly took me to your piece anticipating “the abominable spawn” of Quick Gun Murugan and Dil Bole Hadippa. (Yet to see the former, but latter had Rani riding lorry — yay for Buffalo Girl!! Aside: It’s not nearly as fun as it sounds though (the lorry-top travel, not the movie). I once hitched a ride, with a couple friends from college, atop a lorry carrying rice bags from Coimbatore city to a no-name villagish place about 40 kms away and we were nursing achy-breaky bones for two weeks after that. It’s no better than getting waylaid and beat up by a bunch of goondas — so much for adventure.)

    And didn’t you say something about going to Inception tomorrow? Aditya Raj Kapoor says he has three words for you: Don’t Stop Dreaming! :-P

     
  5. sachita

    July 19, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    late news, rediff published an interview of his sometime ago on exactly the same topic.

    why did the phamily never produce a clone of shashi kapoor, he is the most beautiful of all kapoors the ladies included:) only one worth looking at.

     
  6. le embrouille blogueur

    July 20, 2010 at 11:27 am

    Another prodigal Kapoor.Well if he is really as disciplined as his Baba has asked him to be, he might just make it. Somehow the Kapoor guys get wider as the girls get to “zero” sizes. Hopefully it is not 30 years too late for him. And yet again, there is the stereotype obsession with the Kapoors. Sigh !!

     
  7. Veena

    July 20, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    ha ha..completely agree with you – he looks like a collage of all Kapoors. That Kapoor gene sure is dominant!

     
  8. rayshma

    July 20, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    he’s going to star in a bolly movie? with salt & pepper hair n all? as what? the evil step brother of ms size zero? he could abduct her beau and have her screeching “nahiii!!! tum apni behen ko vidhwa nahi banaa sakte…!”
    sigh.
    i need to get a life!

     
  9. sophy

    July 20, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    The Kapoors all look so Kapoorish–it’s like they married themselves in an act of self-love. This incarnation looks like Shashi but there’s enough of Shammi to have me wondering if memsaab will switch allegiances.

     
  10. Banno

    July 21, 2010 at 12:25 am

    He looks great. And another advantage, he seems to have aged well. The Kapoor tendency to fat seems to have eluded him. Memsaab has probably met him, no??

     
  11. Indian Homemaker

    July 21, 2010 at 1:24 am

    He does look like Shashi and Shammi Kapoor… if he is lucky and plans well – he might do well. He doesn’t look a day older than Sanjay Dutt who thinks Madhuri Dixit should take care of her family since she is too old for movies now ;)

     
  12. ramya

    July 21, 2010 at 5:08 am

    Hilarious!

     
  13. Amrita

    July 22, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    Beth & Shalini – he makes me feel like there’s something wrong with my eyes!

    Sindiantadka – aahahahhaha! Now his followers will follow you around the internet!

    NRT – so Saif’s scene from Dil Chahta Hai was based on true life? :D
    I saw Inception and now will watch Salt. I’m back baby!

    Sachita – where the hell have I been? I feel blindsided!
    Shashi actually created an even prettier Kapoor in his son Karan but the poor thing has less acting ability than furniture.

    LEB – he’s apparently been working for years!

    Veena – Imagine what tough genes Neetu Singh must have if hers battled down the Kapoor ones and turned Ranbir the way he is.

    Rayshma – ahahahah! When you do, tell me how it’s done so I can do it too!

    Sophy – best of two worlds! :D

    Banno – apparently he used to be chubby but he started exercising.
    Yeah, I need to read her post about meeting Shammi to see.

    IH – WHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT? Did he really say that? Pig.

    Ramya- :)

     
    • NRT

      July 22, 2010 at 6:24 pm

      Which Saif scene from DCH? Long time since I last saw that movie, so refresh mangta (plus I was so busy paying attention to the Aamir scenes that poor Saif musta got banished to my blind spot).

      And Karan Kapoor. Didn’t he set photoshoot room furniture on fire or something with his hotness in those Bombay Dyeing ads, back in the day? Those eyes… Sigh!

       
      • NRT

        July 22, 2010 at 10:46 pm

        P.S: Oh wait, are we talking the Goa cottage “bondage” scene? Blonde-turned-bandit? Awww, that was a nice one! :-P My (one and only one time) lorry-ride was not nearly half as dramatic: Thanks to the no-seatbelt policy governing most roof-top travel in Tamil Nadu, the bunch of us kept hurtling between boulder-sized rice bags and boy, did our butts get bruised pretty good!!

         
  14. memsaab

    July 23, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    I haven’t met him yet but I’m going to—he owes me some Kingfishers! He is a sweet guy, and don’t forget that GEETA BALI was his mother too! (and I have a ss of him as a six year old in a review coming up)…

    Don’t know how his fillum career will progress but he seems to be having fun. I guess if I had the connections he has I might give it a try too. Oh wait…no I wouldn’t :D

     
  15. Amrita

    July 23, 2010 at 3:30 pm

    NRT – the scene where Saif comes back from “bondage” and sits on a pillow :D
    And yes, Karan was the hottie who walked across a room and sat on a chair. He should have stopped there.

    Memsaab – WHAT? This is Geeta Bali’s kid? I see it now that you’ve said it.

     
    • memsaab

      July 23, 2010 at 5:06 pm

      Yes, here’s a preview of the screen shot I mentioned. Cute little monkey!

       
 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

