RSS

Creep Up Next

13 Jun

I stopped watching Heroes after the first, extremely underwhelming, season so I don’t know – did they ever get around to discussing the logical side-effects of the self-healing, regenerating nature of The Cheerleader’s (Hayden Panettiere – I can’t remember her character’s name) gift? I didn’t think of them myself until someone at the Television Without Pity forums brought up the delicate question of her possible eternal virginity. Don’t say “ew”. There are people who pay good money for that! Humanity wants to know.

But now that I think about it – does she have the world’s shortest period? Because I remember that video or photo gallery or whatever that was floating around a year or so back, showcasing the state of the uterus during the progression of the menstrual cycle and it sure looked like a giant, inflamed, angry wound to me. No wonder I can’t stand people so much as looking at me when I have my period. I’m walking around with sensitive organs that resemble something off a butcher’s block!

So does The Cheerleader’s body just go “Oh hell no!” and clear that up right quick? I guess that’s God’s way of making up for all the other pain visited on her head – like her insane parent situation.

It’s one of the reasons True Blood rocks: they actually addressed the whole thing when Bill’s terrible vampire baby realized that since she got turned as a virgin, she’s going to remain a virgin till the end of time. Ouch? Yes. Logical? Yes. And then there was that scene of Bill wiping away his “tears” which subtly explained Sookie’s post-coital high.

I’m counting down the hours to Season Three. Especially after the kind of month I’ve just suffered.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on June 13, 2010 in Entertainment, Television, Video

 

Tags: ,

7 responses to “Creep Up Next

  1. Christy

    June 13, 2010 at 5:39 pm

    :-D Now I don’t feel quite so twisted for wondering about this as well. It always bothered me on Buffy too. The Slayer also had super regenerative powers. I only ever saw it addressed in one fan fiction story. True Blood is based on books written by a woman and Heroes and Buffy had predominately male writing staffs so…there ya go.

     
  2. Bikram Agarwal

    June 14, 2010 at 4:08 am

    Hayden Panettiere’s character’s name is Claire Bennet. Guess the writers just overlooked the minute detail. Heroes is full of such ‘blunders’. Still, love it.

     
  3. mssb

    June 14, 2010 at 7:40 pm

    Ah, the stereotypes. Presenting, a little something I’d like to call: How to kick the hornet’s nest.

    http://www.livemint.com/2010/06/11211917/Breaking-news-I-may-not-be-an.html?h=B

     
  4. LEB

    June 15, 2010 at 7:17 am

    I was travelling when the first season came out. And somehow at the end of the day when I sat down in the hotel bedm, True Blood seemed like a fascinating escape from reality. Something which I rarely do – watch a show. I hope this Season does well. Read your other post as well. Well done.

     
  5. Amrita

    June 16, 2010 at 3:58 pm

    @ Christy – also, TB has Alan Ball who is just plain weird and not afraid to go THERE. :D

    @ Bikram – Claire! That’s the one. Thanks! I really wanted to like Heroes (Adrian Pasdar can do no wrong!) but no go.

    @ mssb – I love that one big reply someone left that basically said “nationalism is all sentiment and zero thought” and everyone immediately went “THIS IS WHAT WE NEED! TOO GOOD! MAKE THIS PERSON A JOURNALIST” :mrgreen:
    Oh people on the internet. Amusing me endlessly.

    @ LEB – omg! Did you see the opener this weekend? Sam’s dream = reason why I watch TB. :mrgreen:

     
    • le embrouille blogueur

      June 17, 2010 at 12:39 am

      Did not … was caught up with FIFA … is it available online ?

       
      • Amrita

        June 17, 2010 at 4:04 pm

        Well, if you steal it :D Hulu maybe?

         
 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

