RSS

Pygmalion Was Crazy

11 Jun

Does anyone remember Mannequin? The 80s movie starring Andrew McCarthy as this dork  who falls in love with a hot department store mannequin played by Kim Cattrall? Freaked me out!

In retrospect there were quite a few sketchy things going on with the premise of that movie – par for the course, I suppose, for plots based on Pygmalion – and I’m now old enough to think of all those insidious sex doll references I missed first time around, but that’s not why I was horrified by it. It was the thought of an inanimate object coming to life that really pushed my buttons.

I like the dark even if I do check under the bed for hidden monsters before I fall asleep in strange bedrooms; I have no problems with closets although I do like their doors to be closed before I put the lights out, so I can have a second’s worth of warning by the door creaking open just in case someone really is hiding in there; and I like to keep my curtains parted in spite of possible lightning strikes and Peeping Toms. But never, ever will I tolerate the presence of anything inanimate with a face on it in my room.

I will not be looked upon, especially while asleep, by photographs, the covers of books, posters, artists on CDs, cuddly toys and so on. If it has eyes, they must be turned away, hidden, covered or removed immediately. I insist.

Get. It. Out. Of. My. Goddamned. Room.

So I guess Rue McClanahan’s apartment with women moving through its doors is not for me. The boobies (and the butt, which is apparently on the other side), weird looking as they might be, are cool. Interesting as a concept, even! The face? Yeeeargh!

Tell it to stop looking at me! Me is neurotic.

[NYT via Jezebel]

 
10 Comments

Posted by on June 11, 2010 in Celebrity, Newsmakers, Personal

 

Tags: , ,

10 responses to “Pygmalion Was Crazy

  1. Amrita

    June 13, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    Wow, so this really is just me then? :mrgreen:

     
    • pitu

      June 14, 2010 at 1:01 am

      Darling, you could never sleep a wink in my bedroom let me tell you. I have a wall full of Cartier cheetah posters and they’re positioned so I can see them from the bed :D Imagine…. 5 pairs of ice cold green eyes and fangs…. watching you toss and turn. BWAHAHAHA!

       
  2. Ramsu

    June 14, 2010 at 12:45 am

    No, it’s not just you. I remember hearing somewhere that Louis XIV hung the Mona Lisa in his bathroom, but eventually took it out of there because he didn’t like the way she kept smiling at him :-D

     
    • P

      June 17, 2010 at 5:52 pm

      You mean, the (September-born) Sun King of France did not look at her and sigh soulfully like Surya did in the Aadhavan song, “Vaaraayo vaaraayo Mona Lisa”? Pity!

       
  3. eclat

    June 14, 2010 at 1:49 am

    Oh no- not just you! I remember one night in my college hostel I couldn’t sleep a wink, because the moon was in it’s three quarter phase, and it was very big and yellow, and totally looked like some weird one-eyed werewolf was staring in though my window.
    Even now, I hate sleeping in my guest bedroom at night, because it’s got these two red fuse- lights that stare down at me all night….. ughhhh… creepy!

     
  4. Sue

    June 14, 2010 at 4:32 am

    Me too! I was gifted a lovely poster of Tom Cruise from ‘Top Gun’ but I couldn’t bring myself to put it on my wall because, hello, male looking at me. I *changed my clothes in that room* ‘n’ all… I eventually put him up behind the door. And only because he wore Aviators, so I could tell myself he was being a gent and closing his eyes!

     
  5. Pieta

    June 14, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    So lady, you unlikely to line up at the Toy Story 3 showing this weekend, what? :-D

    This “woman walking right thru the door” woodwork has me wondering if its carpenter/sculptor had a “Michelangelo” moment a la “I saw the angel in the marble and carved until I set him free” LOL.

    So, is it just the thought of eyes coming alive in the *dark* that you find scary or are you also averse to being ogled at by the cute backyard teddy that Mr. Holmes-the-chainsaw-carver “brings to life” from a block of wood in broad daylight (seen the Merc this Saturday)?

    Jeez, looks like the recent obsession with reinvoking renaissance art (whose cornerstone was the myth of Pygmalion) is not a millennial myth anymore. It’s real Amrita, it’s REAL. :-P

     
    • Pieta

      June 14, 2010 at 11:58 pm

      P.S: The reverse of this scenario is of course that scene from “Gilli” when Trisha transforms into a display-doll in Vijay’s room so he could camouflage her when his mom walks in…

       
  6. LEB

    June 15, 2010 at 7:21 am

    Lol … what a way to connect it to Pygmalion !! Reminds me of the short story I read in school about the guy who checked into a Hotel room which had a face painting…only that it was a real face. Creepy. I do not think I would enjoy that either.

    Lol @ Ramsu’s comment !!

     
  7. Amrita

    June 16, 2010 at 3:50 pm

    @ Pitu – FREAK!

    @ Ramsu – I always did have an affinity for French royalty :D

    @ Eclat – sometimes the moon freaks me out but mostly I love it! It can look in on me if it wants. (but only when I say so. Oh great, now I have to draw my curtains)

    @ Sue – there was a giant poster of Prince in the room my parents made me share with my brother and it was just opposite my bed! Argh! I was never so happy as when I finally moved into my own room.

    @ Pieta – well, thanks sunshine! Grrr!
    It’s the sensation of being stared at. I can’t even really sleep in a room with another person. Just the idea of someone looking at me when I’m asleep is creepy.

    @ LEB – ARGHHHHHHHHHHH!!! What is that story? It was written to warn me! I fucking hate hotel rooms that overdecorate.

     
 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

