RSS

The Khanna Element

10 May
The Khanna Element

[From Qurbani: Earth, with Wind, on Water, facing Fire]

What kind of woman are you, asks this vintage ad. This Khanna-o-Rama the question to be asked is: what kind of Khanna are you?

EARTH – sensual, elemental, and in touch with reality.

Dude. In a pink jumpsuit. Also in daffodil-yellow, brick orange, dusty blue and spangled capes. With the gayest swordsmaster since Errol Flynn disappointed Truman Capote in bed. And still finds a way to roar. You know how? Coz that’s the only way the Alpha rolls.

By the time he met up with the original Mogambo of Hindi filmdom though, he’d got the hop under strict control.

WIND – setting things in motion, light and airy!

Aww! He’s like a little kid at dance camp with his favoritest star! Look at him skipping along the side of the road with Mads Dixit in her safety-first reflective gear.

But as you see from the above, all it was doing, was setting the stage for this, the greatest Khanna dance vid ever shot.

RAIN – gentle, softly stated and refreshing!

Yes, that is the famous Elaan – a movie that brought together John Abraham, Arjun Rampal, Lara Dutta, Amisha Patel and Kama Khanna… and then made them dance to a song called “Anderloo Manderloo, tu rota why?”.

File this under “shit you couldn’t make up if you tried”. I could watch this movie all day long. Not to mention Rahul’s dancing. :mrgreen:

FIRE – melting the ice, lighting up the place.

And how.

Demonstrating the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree (although it’s taken a few diving lessons):

[Ad via Jezebel]

[Pic via The Most Delicious Indian Twitter]

 
7 Comments

Posted by on May 10, 2010 in Celebrity, Entertainment, Movies, Video

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “The Khanna Element

  1. Shalini

    May 10, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    The first song that comes to mind when I think of Vinod K. is the very aptly worded “teri har ada hai haseen” from Daulat.

    Sigh.

     
  2. sitaji

    May 11, 2010 at 12:01 am

    Fantastic post here Amrita! I actually remember that vintage product and had the “Rain” scent when I was a kid, so this shows CLEARLY that Rahul is my type; however, since I’ve had a long love of “that pool” as I call it, and you included Vinod next to “that pool” http://bit.ly/94ffJn
    I may be a “Fire” Khanna, favoring Vinod. So it seems as if my sun sign Khanna is Rain (Rahul!) with a Vinod Fire sign rising, and I suspect that my moon is in Akshaye.
    All the best!
    Sita-ji

     
  3. le embrouille blogueur

    May 11, 2010 at 12:30 am

    Ah …Mr.Khanna….the ever youthful.Long time since I visited your blog. Love the new look. Very apt.Could not but lol at your comments on the Mohabbat video. Enjoyed this.

     
  4. ajnabi

    May 11, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    The Ek Din Tere video is awesome! I’d never seen it before. :-)

     
  5. Reema

    May 11, 2010 at 12:26 pm

    Oooooh thanks for the Rahul Khanna pic :D :D He was my first crush ..from the time when he hosted MTV MOST WANTED :)
    p.s. I dont comment often but totally love ur blog!

     
  6. Amrita

    May 13, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    Shalini – Lolz! That is a great video.

    Sitaji – NO! AHAHAHAH! That is awesome!

    LEB – welcome back!

    Ajnabi – the wonders of dedicated YTing.

    Reema – welcome! :) Wait, Rahul used to VJ? I’m sad I dont remember because I bet it was awkward and shy and sweet!

     
  7. pitu

    May 14, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    You’re right. NOBODY could make up a song called ‘Anderloo Manderloo’ and also, what in Heaven’s name was Lara wearing? I thought she was an animal lover and she’s apparently skinned an ostritch!

     
 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

