RSS

Mum’s the Word

08 May
Mum’s the Word

For the Mother’s Day that falls this Khanna-o-Rama, I talked to a filmi Maa or ten on what it’s like to mother a Bollywood hero:

Waheeda Rehman (Chandini)
I hate it when people don’t appreciate my son! He’s good-looking, rich, sensitive, we have a beautiful home and he’s so ready to commit! And now some brat he met while traveling is about to run off with his fiancé. I told him to knock that tubbola’s teeth out, but in addition to all his other qualities, he’s also honorable and he says his fiancé prefers that hypothermic drunk. He can’t even walk down stairs without stumbling! I hope she enjoys knitting him endless sweaters for the rest of her life.

Nirupa Roy (Deewar)
I wish I had problems like hers. I’m a single mom from Mumbai and my two sons just can’t get along. The elder one constantly yells at the younger one who never looks him in the face and instead just stares over his shoulder. I try not to be preferential, but it’s hard when my firstborn buys me a house and a washing machine, while the second brings me his laundry and his insecurity.

Read more tales of motherly woe here.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on May 8, 2010 in Celebrity, Entertainment, Life, Movies

 

Tags: , , , , ,

11 responses to “Mum’s the Word

  1. transmogrifier

    May 8, 2010 at 3:38 pm

    This is totally hilarious. And all this talk about Vinod Khanna and Chandini makes me want to watch it again! I shall go hunt for it now :)

     
  2. All About Amar

    May 9, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    Since just about everyone knows now that Amar is Rama backwards (thanks to Khanna-O-Rama), I wan’t to celebrate today by stating the less obvious… Amar is also you, my “Ma”…It is “AR”!

    I know there’s a good reason why you set me afloat downstream in a wicker basket… I’ve never once judged you, coz I’ve always loved you.

    So Ma, I want to take the chance today to acknowledge this special c(h)ord we strike…you and I… it’s um,Biblical!

    Happy Mother’s Day.

     
  3. sachita

    May 9, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    yes, Dina pathak did have a daughter married off in golmaal – but but.. if any one has amol palekar with and without mustache as sons and also lets her climb pipes and jump through windows – rented albeit – that should make them coolest :)

     
  4. dipali

    May 10, 2010 at 12:50 am

    What a lovely idea, Amrita! way cool:)

     
  5. Veena

    May 10, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    Funny!! Another favorite is Reema Lagoo? The pretty mom who is best friends with her kids?? And who makes the ultimate sacrifice for her daughter…singing a duet with Alok Nath….oh the torture

     
  6. pitu

    May 10, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    Whoa! I go off on vacation and whatsthees template? Excellent post :D esp. the Heavenly maa of the loony beta from Darr!

     
    • Triple yay!

      May 11, 2010 at 5:19 pm

      Pitu, you’re bAAAck! We missed you, Sultan (and considering the spike in “sultan” activities in these parts, since your return… don’t look at me… look around, I’m moving a motion to (update the previously moved motion which would now) rename our great country, United Sultans of Amarika!

      And now the template! Well, it’s a looooong story. We’re not allowed to give you all the details… at least not until you’ve been “officially” debriefed, coz the Japanese mafia might just as well have “bugged” you in a bid to track down and rip the innards right out of the gang that’s stolen their “Rising Sun”.

      Speaking of, isn’t it absolutely fantastic how each of the Featured Posts (if you scroll down on the right) have now found their place in the sun, their full 15 (milli)minutes of fame?

      Finally, if you’re nuts about Heavenly maa of the loony beta from Darr, you could do worse than to check out Heavenly paa of loha beta 2, over at Ramsu’s.

      Now off to read your top-10 “Love in the Time of Sakura” moments — apparently, this *is* the time of the year to go gaga over Garcia Marquez! :-D

       
      • pitu

        May 13, 2010 at 12:53 am

        Aww you are too sweet for the welcome! I assume you are TOMGF? :D

         
        • Triple yay!

          May 13, 2010 at 5:17 pm

          Yup, that’s me, Pitu. And as you may have already gleaned, I’ve gotten a lot less ‘fuzzy’.

           
  7. Reema

    May 11, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    lol :D what about Rakhee in Karan Arjun? Mere bete aayenge! mere karan arjun aayenge! :D

     
  8. ramesh

    May 12, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    that was awesome!!!

     
 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

