RSS

Borborygmus

25 Aug

In honor of Julia and Julie, which I enjoyed very much, not to mention Top Chef coming back on air, I decided to become a sheeple and do a little French cooking this weekend.

After all, I never cook French (unless its soup of some kind – I find that anything with broth in it automatically sounds and tastes better when it’s French) cuisine and I figured it’s about time I give it a whirl. So off I went to find a few recipes to try.

And that’s when I realized why Julia Child was such a phenomenon – because French cooking is laborious! Not hard, mind you. Just intensely time consuming and with a million little finicky things that make you wonder why in God’s name you ever invited this grief upon yourself. Like any other cuisine, you won’t know until you begin but if you’re willing to put in some time, give it some love and refuse to panic or try to kill yourself when things (inevitably) go wrong, I think you should emerge more or less unscathed at the end of it. It also helps if you have some company to eat the results of your hard work unless you love yourself so much, no amount of effort is too much for a solitary meal.

Now I didn’t want to want to make anything too ambitious and I wasn’t in the mood for a souffle (although if you are, then you can’t go wrong with that recipe unless you simply can’t make a roux) – what I really wanted, in fact, was some delicious carbonara and a nice glass of white to wash it down. Or maybe a little homemade gnocchi with mushroom sauce?

But! French!

So what did I finally end up cooking? Er, this delicious frittata that I was sinfully pleased with: just halved the number of eggs to 4, substituted Romano for Montasio cheese and reduced it in proportion to the eggs, and put in some bacon instead of prosciutto. Basically, I made a variation upon a variation. Who cares! It was yummy! And suitably French! That is, until I realized everything about it sounds terribly Italian.

Erm. :oops:

 
16 Comments

Posted by on August 25, 2009 in Life, Video

 

Tags: , , , , ,

16 responses to “Borborygmus

  1. Suchismita

    August 25, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    just as in your bed time story, i prefer to come to a well laid table, instead of doing it myself. watched the video and was happy to note that i cook my eggs (well, chicken eggs) the same way..who knew, i was ‘julia’ good. i am too impatient to stick to recipes…

     
  2. Pop Eye

    August 25, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    Oui! Ratatouille! Like Popeye says, “I’m no physicist, but I know what matters!” :-D

    That onomatopoeic rumble in the belly is surely contagious… Off I go to fix myself some “green” eggs and jam (tofu be my BFF, you see, though doesn’t fold half as nicely as “real” eggs do, especially in Julia’s capable hands, oh well).

    And Suchismita, weren’t “well laid” and “table” supposed to be *key* parts of that bedtime story, to begin with?

     
    • Pop Eye

      August 28, 2009 at 8:58 pm

      P.S:

      Here’s a twist on that classic chicken-egg conundrum: Which came first? China Chow’s braised white leg(horn) or Julia Child’s omelet? Just the thing on my mind when the early-Wahlberg movie “Big Hit” — specifically this kitchen-counter “team work” scene (that felt more like a pale imitation of the classic Unchained Melody “moves” from Ghost than a creatively choreographed making-out scene…coz Wahlberg can’t be caught dead kissing well?) — came on TV couple nights back.

      But thankfully, I was too busy connecting the “King Kong” and “crossed white leghorn…33 sexually active phenotypes” (cinema meets biotech?) dots — thanks to IB hangover — to worry about kissing gone kaput!

       
  3. complicateur

    August 25, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    The incredible power of french cuisine awareness:

    While chatting up a lissome lass at an uptown San Franciso bar, Pete could not but help be distracted by one of the many other exquisite women there. “You’re a pig” the lass said, completely miffed. “Absolutely milady, but its all worth it when we find truffles at the end” he said.

    Damned if he didn’t get a date out of that line!

     
    • Pop Eye

      August 25, 2009 at 7:53 pm

      Unlike poor porky in the Pearls strip (see Aug 20), your man Pete clearly needs precious little assistance on the pick-up line front. (The morning after’s SF Chronicle headline: “Top Chef Turns Sitting Duck into Foie Gras!”) :-D

       
  4. pitu

    August 25, 2009 at 4:11 pm

    LOl’ ing at your Italiano-French cooking :-D The only French thing I make (and I make it regularly) is (vegan, of course) chocolate orange liquor mousse (I cannot for the life of me figure out how to spell and pronounce it Frenchie style with all the ‘le’s :-p But, sigh, it’s not a vegan-friendly cuisine at all :_(

     
  5. apu

    August 26, 2009 at 12:55 am

    Aren’t frittatas Spanish? I pride myself on making a mean one btw :)

     
  6. Gradwolf

    August 26, 2009 at 2:17 am

    Let me master vatha kozhambu first.

     
  7. DewdropDream

    August 26, 2009 at 5:35 am

    Yeah I was wondering how any of that could qualify as French cooking considering the names sounded Italian … oh well, whatever floats your boat :D

    I do not venture beyong Aglio olio e peperoncino. Mostly because I am stuck on it.

     
  8. memsaab

    August 26, 2009 at 9:16 am

    I would imagine that if you can make good Indian food, you can make good French food. They seem equally laborious to me.

    (Of course, anything beyond using a can-opener and a spoon is too laborious for me.)

     
    • pitu

      August 26, 2009 at 1:07 pm

      I have to agree with memsaab- they both seem equally laborious. As I was telling a gori friend, even a simple dal dish contains like 15 different ingredients with 13 different steps!!!

       
  9. Amey

    August 26, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    After all, I never cook French

    Yeah, it is hard to catch those frogs first. And those waxed mustaches would just spoil the taste.

    Here endeth my disturbing comment on the day.

     
  10. sachita

    August 27, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    First comes a post about about making the bed, next about cooking, at this rate they might end up calling you to stepford.

    W.r.t food, pick up the phone and order:)

     
  11. Pop Eye

    August 28, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    I haven’t even “scratched the surface,” so to speak, of plodding thru your archives, when I unearth nuggets like your book recos for last summer.

    I was particularly fascinated by this one, of the many reasons you’d stated (in a comment to Gagan) on why you so badly wanted to read V.S. Naipul’s biography:

    “I think there are two Naipauls: one is the Naipaul of his imagination who lives in his prose and then there is the Naipaul of the world we live in. And in a sense both are constructs of the actual Naipaul, whom we never get to see except in brief glimpses.”

    Not to mention the French connection that makes it oh-so-relevant in the context of *this* post — “Because I’d like to see what French has been able to do with his all-access card.” :-D

    Now to think that V.S. Naipaul, to me, is merely a famous name in the literary canon… ah, shame!

     
  12. Suchismita

    August 29, 2009 at 11:16 am

    Ok POP EYE, i must be having a slow day, so while i get the ‘well laid’ part of the comment in response to mine, the ‘table’ part eludes me…sorry AMRITA to use your comment page, but it would have puzzled me otherwise…

     
    • Pop Eye

      August 29, 2009 at 12:58 pm

      hey, wouldn’t want to you go banging your head on that ‘table’ on account of me. :-D So here goes… that was just me stretching my imagination to append — to Amrita’s “plethora of possibilities” list — the “dining” area!

       
 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

