RSS

No Comment.

12 Nov

Seriously. I… have no words.

[via Dlisted]

 
11 Comments

Posted by on November 12, 2008 in Life, Video

 

11 responses to “No Comment.

  1. naren

    November 13, 2008 at 1:17 am

    My wife, mother of two, found it sweet and touching.

     
  2. Orange Jammies

    November 13, 2008 at 4:20 am

    Umm…clearly, “thank you very much but I’d like my body back” isn’t going to be said anytime soon. Many years ago, I had heard the story of a village boy hankering after his mother’s breast milk at 13. Yeah, that was a WTF moment too.

     
  3. apu

    November 13, 2008 at 4:34 am

    I actually found the girls’ unselfconscious amazing; whether or not it’s a good idea to breastfeed for so long, I think more of us could do without the shame and secrecy attached to ordinary bodily functions.

     
  4. B o o.

    November 13, 2008 at 8:56 am

    So this mother has been lactating and feeding for 10+ years? Holy cow!!! ;)

     
  5. M

    November 13, 2008 at 11:46 am

    My only reaction is ouch! I know this used to be the norm in times of scarcity (like WW2) – children were B/f as long as possible, since other sources of milk were low…

    Not sure what to think actually :-)

    M

     
  6. Kanan

    November 14, 2008 at 12:19 am

    Okay this is gonna be weird… I have been wanting to ask this to Beth ever since I found out what a HUGE Shashi Kapoor fan she is… thanks to Amrita now I can ask that here to not just her but everyone! Was he actually breast fed till he was 7? I read that in an interview or profile of his in a Gujarati bollywood magazine back in the late 80s or early 90s. It sucks cuz I don’t have that magazine any more so it’s hard for me to recall which magazine it was but in any case, may be fellow fans can help. Haven’t watched the video and am not going to but the comments told me what it was about.

    Thanks, Amrita. ;)

     
  7. Beth

    November 14, 2008 at 12:31 am

    No idea! I read the chapter on him in Madhu Jain’s bio of the Kapoor family and do not at all remember that little tidbit…. I’ll dig out the book and check again. Something tells me she didn’t interview him about that :)

     
  8. desigirl

    November 14, 2008 at 7:12 am

    Typical of Boo to come up with the perfect phrase – holy cow, indeed!

    Can I just say, being in my current delicate state, ICK! I would clearly like to draw the line somewhere around the first budday mark and like OJ says, state clearly that I’d like my boobies back before they turn into used tea bags. *koff*

     
  9. memsaab

    November 14, 2008 at 11:59 am

    I suppose she thinks children ought to be able to choose whether they want to learn to read or write, or share their toys too.

    LOL @ Boo as well! :-)

     
  10. Amrita

    November 15, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    Naren – and what does her husband, father of two, think? :D

    OJ – ok, so you see what you did there? You took a creepy story and you made it even more creepy! Well done.

    Apu – ordinarily I’d agree with you but that bit about the sweetest melons in the whole world kind of soured me on that attitude. Or is it curdled me? Ha, I made a funny.

    Boo – HAHAHAHAHA!!!! I tip my hat to you.

    M – really? I had no idea. But that would make sense. Between this and the placenta eating, I’m convinced I’m not destined to be a New Age mom.

    Kanan – you’re welcome but I have never heard that. WHy would they write that in a profile anyway? Ew. However, if breastfeeding my children into middle age means they’ll turn out like Shashi, I might have rethink this whole issue.

    Beth – I now wish she did :D

    Dg – that’s milk bags dontcha know? (blech!)

    Memsaab – that’s just crazy talk! :D

     
  11. ajnabi

    November 18, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    Hmmm. The WHO organization recommends that kids be breastfed for “at least” two years and thereafter for as long as both mother and child desire. But seven is quite unusual. I mean, I *guess* it would be better if she’d weaned them to chicken McNugget happy meals like a normal human being because they’re so fabulously nutritionally complete.

     
 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

