RSS

Bindaas Bol: “Condom”

27 May

(Thanks Aroon!)

I’m always struck by how well made these Public Service Ads are. Ad film making in India is at a seriously evolved level but even back in the day, the PSAs were something else. I’m old enough to remember the national integration ads with celebrities from different walks of life, not to mention the animated features which were absolutely delightful.

Zamana badal gaya, as they say. Times have changed. Now you can get your national unity in a slick format from the house of Bharatbala and PSAs are all about things like disease prevention. There’s the polio campaign, the no smoking campaign and most of all, you have the AIDS campaign.

Version 2.0 of the AIDS campaign is funny, irreverent and very, very important in a country that’s currently leading the world in the total number of people infected with HIV. There’s a statistic I don’t want India to lead. And I know it’s only to be expected in a country with a billion people, but I’m sorry, it’s just not acceptable at a time in history when information is becoming increasingly easy to disperse.

All the Gere-Shetty kiss-kiss nonsense shouldn’t take away from the rising threat of AIDS and the number of orphans it leaves behind each year – to live sad, short ostracized lives or to grow up neglected and alone.

Here’s the one of the original versions of the ad above. You can watch more on Youtube. Just type, “Bindaas Bol”.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 27, 2007 in Entertainment, Life, News, Television, Video

 

5 responses to “Bindaas Bol: “Condom”

  1. Kokonad

    May 27, 2007 at 11:49 pm

    Ha ha… the originals are really nice! India really needs more ads like these.

    The post reminded me of those times when I felt horribly uncomfortable at home if a condom ad came on TV while I was watching with my parents… lol.

    Bte, how have you been?

     
  2. Amrita

    May 28, 2007 at 2:16 am

    Hey Koke, I think we can all relate to that teen embarrassment :D But these are just people talking, y’know? By the time you figure it out, the cat’s out of the bag.

    I’ve been good, busy that’s all. :( How’s your summer?

     
  3. Kokonad

    May 28, 2007 at 11:52 am

    The book tag? I am afraid to say I haven’t read much of late, and too few by Indian authors – in fact the last one I had read was A Suitable Boy, and I wouldn’t quite recommend it to the general public. :)

    I have been good too… had my parents and bhaiyya-bhabhi and year-old-nephew over last week – so had a great time in NYC and DC. Starting this week, I guess my research shifts to a higher gear.

     
  4. Jason

    May 29, 2007 at 4:55 am

    Its called a ‘Topi’ in the movie “Life in a Metro”. When they say “Topi pahen kar karo” you know why the population is growing!

     
  5. Amrita

    May 29, 2007 at 11:20 am

    Lol Jason :D i hadnt heard that before.

     
 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

